

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE June 15, 2018

Contact: Fiona Phelan Communications Project Manager (203) 294-7206 Phelan@chime.org

The Connecticut Hospital Association Welcomes the Newly Elected Members of its Board of Trustees

WALLINGFORD – At the Connecticut Hospital Association (CHA) Annual Meeting, held June 14, 2018, John M. Murphy, MD, President and Chief Executive Officer, Western Connecticut Health Network, began a two-year term as Chairman of the CHA Board of Trustees. Dr. Murphy succeeds David A. Whitehead, Executive Vice President and Chief Strategy and Transformation Officer, Hartford HealthCare, who will now serve as Immediate Past Chairman.

Additionally, CHA members elected trustees and officers for the CHA 2018-2019 Board of Trustees include Christopher M. O'Connor, Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer, Yale New Haven Health, who was elected Vice Chairman of the Board and Treasurer. Marna P. Borgstrom, Chief Executive Officer, Yale New Haven Hospital and Yale New Haven Health, was elected Secretary and Chairman of the Committee on Government. Patrick A. Charmel, President and Chief Executive Officer, Griffin Hospital, was elected DNS Board Chairman. John F. Rodis, MD, President, Saint Francis Hospital and Medical Center, was elected Chairman of the Committee on Patient Care Quality. David A. Whitehead, Executive Vice President, Chief Strategy and Transformation Officer, Hartford HealthCare, was elected Chairman of the Committee on Hospital Finance. Vincent G. Capece, President and CEO, Middlesex Hospital, was elected Executive Committee At Large Member and AHA Alternate Delegate. Kurt A. Barwis, President and Chief Executive Officer, Bristol Hospital, was elected CEO Forum Chairman, and William M. Jennings, Executive Vice President, Yale New Haven Health and President and Chief Executive Officer, Bridgeport Hospital, was elected the AHA Delegate.

Newly elected or re-elected trustees include:

Vincent G. Capece, President and CEO, Middlesex Hospital; Anne Diamond, JD, President and CEO, Day Kimball Healthcare; Jeffrey A. Flaks, President and Chief Operating Officer, Hartford HealthCare; Stuart E. Rosenberg, President, Johnson Memorial Hospital; Ena Williams, RN, Senior Vice President and Chief Nursing Officer, Yale New Haven Hospital.

Other members of the 2018-2019 CHA Board include:

Rohit Bhalla, MD, Vice President, Quality and Chief Quality Officer, Stamford Health; Judith A. Carey, RSM, PhD, Board Member, Trinity Health Of New England; Jennifer Jackson, President and CEO, CHA; James E. Mitchell, PhD, Secretary, Lawrence + Memorial Hospital; Bimal Patel, President, Hartford HealthCare Hartford Region and Senior Vice President, Hartford HealthCare; James E. Shmerling, DHA, Chief Executive Officer, Connecticut Children's Medical Center. CHA gratefully acknowledges the generous Annual Meeting sponsorship of our Platinum Sponsors, Wiggin and Dana and BRG.

###

The Connecticut Hospital Association has been dedicated to serving Connecticut's hospitals since 1919. Through state and federal advocacy, CHA represents the interests of Connecticut's hospitals on key healthcare issues in the areas of quality and patient safety, access and coverage, workforce, community health, health equity, and hospital reimbursement.